Statistics for 2009 TCRSF

At TCRSF, 476 students registered for projects & 46 for papers = 522 student registrations AT TCRSF, 114 students were in HS,

145 in 8th. 135 in 7^{th} , and 82 in 6^{th} grade

At TCRSF papers: 22 were middle school and 24 were high school.

At State, Twin Cities had 26% of projects and took 29% of the awards

Sent to state competition, including additions: (projects, not students; team project counts as one)

 6^{th} grade: not eligible 7th grade: 27/130 = 20.8% of 7th grade projects 8th grade: 31/128 = 24.2% of 8th grade projects

High School: 50/108 = 46.3% of high school (includes additions & upgrades)

We got to send a few more projects than expected due to unfilled registrations at state

At the Tristate regional Jr Science & Humanities Symposium (JSHS, research paper competition), Twin Cities took 5 of 5 places; 6 of 6 students who earned the trip to Nationals

1st Stephen Trusheim, Breck School

2nd Travis Spangler, Breck School

3rd Michael Cherkassky, Edina High School

4th Sierra Danforth & Sahar Hakim-Hashemi, Breck School

5th Michael Crump, Breck School

At National JSHS, Michael Crump earned 2nd place (\$6000 scholarship & alternate to London International Youth Science Forum)

From Tristate regional JSHS, two students were chosen to advance to the American Jr Academy of Science: 1st Emily Nimmer, Breck School

2nd Sharmila Ahmed, Burnsville Sr.High School

From Tristate regional JSHS, 3 out of 5 students named for Outstanding Achievement were from the Twin Cities: Anushua Bhattacharya, Madelaine Taft-Ferguson, Daniel Mokhtari

At International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF), we had 7 individual projects (2 from each of 3 affiliations and one individual project chosen from state) and two team of two competing, and 4 alternates

At ISEF we brought home 6 awards:

Stephen Trusheim, 1st Grand Award (\$3000) in Medicine & Health Martin Camacho, 3rd Grand Award (\$1000) in Mathematics

Stephen Trusheim, \$8000 Navy & Marine Scholarship

Stephen Trusheim, \$200 2nd Place Patent & Trademark Office Society

Chee Xiong Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) Institute of Psychology renewable scholarship, \$15,000/yr Martin Camacho, Honorable Mention Karl Menger Award of Excellence, American Mathematical Society **ISEF** Finalists:

Prithwis Mukhopadhyay	Stephen Trusheim
Tiffanie Stone	Sahar Hakim-Hashemi and Sierra Danforth
Nicholas NaSal and Joseph Lane	Chee Xiong
Michael Fuad	Martin Camacho
	Chosen from state: Elaina Hamann

Prithwis Mukhopadhyay (Woodbury HS) has won a \$10,000 Davidson Fellowship 2009 and Tiffanie Stone (AFSA HS) has won a Borlaug-Ruan International Internship 2009 to do summer research in China. TCRSF sent some projects to ISWEEEP in Houston (www.isweep.org) and Xin Li (Breck) won the Senior Grand Award in the Environment category. Anushua Bhattacharya (Lake Jr H) & Xin Li (Breck) each won an ISWEEEP gold medal & \$1000. Emily Nimmer (Breck School) won an ISWEEEP silver medal & \$750. Michael Fuad (Breck), Michael Crump (Breck) & Elaina Hamann (St. Anthony Village HS) each won an ISWEEEP bronze medal & \$500. Michael Cherkassky (Edina HS) won \$250 cash from Louisiana State University & a trophy from ASME International Petroleum Technology Institute. Michael Fuad (Breck) won a plaque from The University of Texas at Dallas